wakefulness

holiday times OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m a light sleeper, I wish I were a deep sleeper able to sleep through anything but I never have been and suspect never will.  I am a night owl, my body wakes up in the evening and I can be super productive, also due in part to the babes being tucked up in their beds by no later than 7pm.

This week has been a challenging week in some ways.  I’m 34 weeks pregnant!!! Can’t wait to meet you baby, actually yes I can wait I still have a long list of ‘to do’s’ before you arrive, but I am super excited to meet you, see who you are, what you look like, smell your head, give you a name, and just watch you…oh yes getting very excited.   Anyway I was saying a challenging week…..Mark was away AGAIN!  Three nights and four full days, Humph.  None of us like it when he goes away, he was away 9 weeks last year, which was just too, too much for me and the kids.  The kids know what it means when he goes away and they are sad when he leaves and if they speak with him on the phone while he is away there are always tears, and longing for Daddy to be home.

His most recent stint away was difficult for the kids as they just miss their Dad and difficult for me as I am not sleeping well at night, (I might mention it is 4am as I write this post) oh how I love pregnancy insomnia!!  Accumulated lack of sleep and no Daddy hands at the beginning or end of the day is a challenge and it was hard for me not get grumpy and keep my patience, then I feel terrible if I growl, after all it isn’t the kids fault.

My kids are early risers most mornings Fox is up at 5.45am and Poppy very shortly thereafter.  The Fox knows we don’t start the day until 6am but he comes into our room every morning only to be sent back to his bedroom to check the time, on his digital clock, and to be told to wait the obligatory 12, 8 or 9 minutes until the clock ticks over to 6am.  We have to set the morning boundary somewhere and for us it is no breakfast and very quiet alone play before 6am!  I am envious of those who have kids who sleep well, really my friends you don’t know how good you have it to get regular and solid sleep.

I know, I know another baby when will you get that sleep?? What The lady??  Yes but oh I wouldn’t have it any other way.  And besides once the baby comes the pregnancy insomnia will stop …. I’ll just be waking up to feed the baby and once the baby arrives no more travel for Mark for some time!! I’ve put my foot down and he has willingly come to the party!

Sleep yummy!

Leave a Reply

