december


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA December

It’s easy to identify my highlight for 2013 welcoming our beautiful Gil into our family.  It was however also a hard year. The toughest element for me is that the uncertainty about home (and all that it embodies) remains.  We continue to live in this little dark rental, which feels smaller and darker by the day, it isn’t kid friendly nor baby friendly.  And the steps to finding a new home have been slowed and interrupted by other factors, while the market has kept climbing.

December was a tough month.  My birthday came and went uneventfully, not even a cake.  Christmas loomed and I felt like I was running to keep up with the end of the first year of school and three-year old preschool.  There were farewell’s, christmas parties, concerts, more parties.  Somewhere in the midst of the mayhem I forgot about the party food for the last day at Poppy’s preschool, and felt like a failure, irrational I know, probably the culmination of a tough couple of weeks.

December did see lots of creativity by the small people, Christmas tree ornaments made by their own hands – plaster of paris in Christmas chocolate moulds, add a little ribbon before the plaster sets and paint it up.  We made cookies in a jar, (dry ingredients only with instructions for adding the wet ingredients and baking) they received a great deal of praise, so we may just make it again next year.

Fox was beautiful and generous making gifts and gifting some of his own special belongings for his class mates and family members and writing lovely notes to the recipients.  He got so much joy in the making and in thinking of others, such a beautiful quality.

I did manage in December to get a little time to myself and spoilt myself with a pedicure a little bit of bright happiness.  Painted nails have been a rarity in our home, so much so Poppy tried to wipe off the paint and wipe it onto her own toes.   A little bottle of pink polish, and sparkle polish then made its way into her christmas stocking.  Speaking of Christmas and Poppy she once again banned Santa from entering the house, he was welcome to bring gifts but “only the reindeer can bring the presents inside”.

Christmas day was lovely, invited to join my Stepbrother’s family his gorgeous wife Sue cooked and catered beautifully.  It was such a treat to have it all cared for by others and spending the day in easy company, it made for a relaxed family christmas.

It wasn’t until after christmas that I found time for gingerbread making this year – the kids decorated and ate little houses inspired by Tahnee with their Canberra cousins.

2 thoughts on “december

  1. I just want to give you a big hug! I hope you have had time over the past few weeks to rest and recover – and recharge. I have to say, some things you said, I felt exactly the same – the race to the finish line and no time for anything but attending functions written on the calendar… but it sounds as though your Christmas Day was really wonderful. I so hope this year brings clarity and you are able to set a few things in stone that you are longing for. And I’m so sorry – I am certain I forgot your birthday! I am hopeless.. I hope you’re enjoying the last weeks of no routine before we begin the school year again..! Much love xxx

    • Hi lovely, no apologies for birthday remembering or otherwise, I am sure I didn’t recall yours either….just saw your post from yesterday rather apt!!! I hope you get lots of time to snuggle your new little nephew. Being an aunt is a privilege a whole new person to love and cherish. Wishing you a wonderful year hopefully see you before too long x R

Leave a Reply

